AVAIL does not touch or alter content.  Users can do an in-session upgrade where the file is copied, upgraded to the desired version, then saved as a temporary file on the users machine.  Up to 5 temporary files are saved before starting to overwrite.  Lots of customers do bulk update and create a new channel but it depends on your environment.

Did this answer your question?